Page 1arrow_down_darkarrow_right_brightarrow_right_darkarrow_right_brightPath 4Group 2Group 2Group 8Group 4Group-6GroupShapeShapelogo-sociallogo-social-whitemailmail-whiteGroup 7phonePath 180pinterestShaperdda_win16ShapePage 1ButtonyoutubeShape
Menu

The history of the knitting needle

People have been knitting since ancient times. Over the centuries, the knitting needle has been further evolved: now it is crafted from an array of materials, the manufacturing process has become simpler and the types of needle become more varied. But has there been genuine innovation since the invention of the first knitting needle?

Discover
1.0

3rd - 4th century BC

Nobody knows exactly how old the craft of knitting truly is. Present findings suggest that it is more established than carpet making, yet not as old as weaving.

The earliest surviving example of knitting is a sandal sock found in Egypt.

The history of knitting has not been fully explored as the materials used for it decomposed easily.

1.1

7th - 8th century BC

The knitting technique as we know it today does not appear until the end of the 7th century. Since then, knitting with two needles has opened up entirely new possibilities.

In the olden days, knitting needles used to be made of bone, ivory or tortoiseshell.

2.0
Until today:

There's been hardly a change in over 1,200 years

To this day, knitting needles are still made in much the same way as in ancient times. Very few hand tools have seen as little in the way of technical improvements as the knitting needle (even a hammer today is a high-tech product). This begs the question: Why?

Principle in the 8th century: long rod with a tapered tip and a knob at the end - the same as most of today's single-pointed knitting needles.

2.1
Meanwhile in the

15th century

The earliest documented illustration dates from around 1400: knitting with a set of double-pointed knitting needles. While the stitches remain on 4 needles forming a square, a fifth needle is used to knit into the stitches, creating circular garments such as socks or sleeves.

2.2
Circular knitting needles in the

20th century

Circular knitting needles are the all-rounders among knitting needles. They are great not just for knitting in the round (e.g. tubes, sleeves, hats), but also for flat objects, especially larger items. Socks and very small pieces are easy to knit with circular knitting needles - if you know the trick. It's a technique called "Magic Loop", invented by Sarah Hauschka and published first in the Fiber Trends booklet "The Magic Loop" in 2002.

Our survey result:

% Circular knitting needle
% Double-pointed needles
2.3
Into the

21st century

Many new and imaginative needle versions have emerged not least as a result of modern production processes. Designed to stand out from competitors' products - often with marketing effects such as colour schemes, snazzy materials or elegant designs. The basic principle of the needle, however, has largely remained the same since the 8th century: a long rod with a tapered tip and a knob at the end. High time for a genuine innovation.

3.0

The new generation of knitting needles

Reinvented for the human hand. Light, flexible, perfectly structured.

More info

arrow_down_darkarrow_right_brightarrow_right_darkarrow_right_brightRectangle 157Group 8Group 4Group-6GroupShapeShapeShapelogo-sociallogo-social-whitemailmail-whiteGroup 7phonePath 180pinterestShaperdda_win16Shapevideo-toggleryoutubeShape

Die Geschichte der Stricknadel

Schon vor sehr langer Zeit begann der Mensch zu stricken. Seitdem haben sich die Stricknadeln ständig weiter entwickelt: Die Materialien sind vielfältiger geworden, die Herstellung einfacher und die Nadeltypen verschiedenartiger. Doch wieviel Innovation gab es seit der Erfindung der Ur-Stricknadel wirklich?

Entdecken
1.0

3 - 4.Jahrhundert v. Chr.

Wie alt das Handwerk des Strickens ist, ist nicht exakt datiert. Vorliegende Funde deuten darauf hin, dass es schon vor der Herstellung von Teppichen, aber erst nach dem Handwerk des Webens erfunden wurde.

Das älteste, noch erhaltene Beispiel der Strickkunst ist eine Sandalen-Socke aus Ägypten

Die Geschichte des Strickens ist nicht lückenlos erforscht, da die dabei verwendeten Materialien sehr schnell zerfallen.

1.1

7. - 8. Jahrhundert n. Chr.

Das klassische Stricken, wie wir es heute kennen, hat erst nach dem siebten Jahrhundert begonnen. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt wurden zwei Nadeln zum Stricken eingesetzt, was völlig neue Möglichkeiten hervor brachte.

Früher wurden Stricknadeln meist aus Knochen, Elfenbein oder Schildkrötenpanzer hergestellt.

2.0
Bis heute:

Kaum Veränderungen seit über 1.200 Jahren

Auch heute sind Stricknadeln ähnlich konstruiert wie im Mittelalter. Es gibt nur sehr wenige Handwerkszeuge, die so wenig technische Erneuerung erlebt haben wie ausgerechnet Stricknadeln (selbst ein Hammer ist heute ein HighTec-Produkt). Die Frage ist berechtigt: Warum?

Prinzip aus dem 8. Jahrhundert: konische Spitze, langer Rundstab und aufgesetzter Endknopf - Merkmale fast aller heutigen Jackenstricknadeln

2.1
Währenddessen im

15.Jahrhundert

Erstmals um 1400 bildlich dokumentiert: das Stricken mit dem "Nadelspiel". Durch die Verwendung von 4 Nadeln erhielt man ein geschlossenes Quadrat für die Maschen, um dann mit einer freien fünften Nadel Rundformen wie z. B. Strümpfe oder Ärmel stricken zu können.

2.2
Rundstricknadel ab dem

20.Jahrhundert

Rundstricknadeln sind die Allrounder unter den Stricknadeln, denn sie sind nicht nur für runde Strickformen oder Schläuche (z. B. Ärmel, Mützen), sondern auch für flache Strickstücke geeignet, besonders für grössere Arbeiten. Aber auch Socken und kleinste Dinge können mit Rundstricknadeln gestrickt werden - man muss nur den Trick kennen. Er heisst "Magic Loop", erfunden von Sarah Hauschka, erstmals veröffentlicht in der FiberTrends Broschüre "The Magic Loop" in 2002.

Was bevorzugst du?

Rundstricknadel Jackenstricknadel

Unser Ergebnis von allen Umfrage-Teilnehmern:

% Rundstricknadel
% Jackenstricknadel
2.3
Bis ins

21.Jahrhundert

Gerade mit der modernen industriellen Produktion sind viele neue Produktvarianten auf den Markt gekommen. Bemüht um eine deutliche Differenzierung vom Wettbewerb - oft auch mit Marketingeffekten wie z. B. bunten Farben, schillernden Materialien oder edlen Aufmachungen. Das Konstruktions-Grundprinzip der Nadel jedoch stammt weiterhin weitgehend aus dem 8. Jahrhundert: konische Spitze, langer Rundstab und aufgesetzter Endknopf. Höchste Zeit also für echte Innovationen.

3.0

Die neue Generation der Stricknadel

Für Menschenhände neu erfunden. Leicht, flexibel, formvollendet.

Mehr erfahren

Stay up-to-date:

*Durch das Klicken auf „Weiter“ akzeptieren Sie die Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen der Prym Consumer Europe GmbH.

Danke, wir haben dir eine Email geschickt.